Forbidden Planet NYC

832 Broadway
New York City, NY 10003

Past Events

Aug. 29, 2018: Once Upon A Time Machine Signing

Join creators Ronald Wimberly, Alice Meichi Li, Gregory Benton, Bodie Chewning, Ben Kahn, Adam McGovern, and Chris Stevens for a discussion and signing of ONCE UPON A TIME MACHINE at 7 PM on Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at Forbidden Planet.

Also signing! Kristen Gudsnuk, writer/artist of books like Dark Horse Comics‘ Henchgirl and Scholastic‘s Making Friends, and artist of the new Dark Horse series, Modern Fantasy!

RONALD WIMBERLY is an Ignatz and Eisner Award-nominated cartoonist/designer. He’s worked with The New Yorker, Dargaud, DC Comics/Vertigo, Marvel, Image Comics, Dark Horse Comics and many others. His work has been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, and Paris. Ronald was the 2016 Columbus Comics resident and two-time resident cartoonist at Angoulême Maison des Auteurs.

ALICE MEICHI LI is an illustrator who grew up in Yes-Actually-Detroit and currently lives in Jamaica, Queens. Her art has appeared on the pages of books by Oni Press, ARCHIE COMICS, Dark Horse Comics, and Image Comics; and has been exhibited at the Museum of Comic & Cartoon Art – MoCCA, Museum of Chinese in America, Gallery Nucleus, Gallery 1988: LA and others.

GREGORY BENTON has written & drawn comix for AdHouse Books, DC Comics, Disney, Éditions çà et là, First Second Books, Nickelodeon, SpongeBob Comics, Vertigo and more. His book Smoke received a starred review from Publishers Weekly and was selected for the Society Of Illustrators Comics and Cartoon Art Annual in 2016.

BODIE CHEWNING is a self-taught Illustration & story artist born in Bucks County, Pennsylvania and currently residing in Flatbush, Brooklyn. He produces t-shirt graphics, accessory illustration and design for major (& minor) apparel companies as well as comics, storyboards & animation. His work has been published in Locust Moon Comics’ multiple Eisner & Harvey Award-winning anthology Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream as well as The Bartkira Project (an internationally crowd sourced redux of Katsuhiro Otomo’s manga classic Akira recast with the characters of The Simpsons).

BEN KAHN is a writer working in New York City. Ben has been writing for over a decade, with experience in webcomics and video games before beginning their published comic career in 2015. Ben divides their time between working on their latest comic book projects, and playing with a kitty who would really rather be left alone. Ben’s most recent work includes Heavenly Blues from Scout Comics and Once Upon a Time Machine vol. 2 from Dark Horse Comics, with more to be annnounced soon.

ADAM McGOVERN grew up reading Larousse’s and the D’aulaires’ mythology books, listening to an album of orchestral muzak about the Greco-Roman gods he got from his mom, watching stop-motion Homeric epics by Ray Harryhausen, and running like a total goofus. He’s written Nightworld and Aquaria for Image Comics, each with the Hermes/Footsteps creative team.

CHRIS STEVENS is the co-founder of Locust Moon Comics and multiple Eisner and Harvey award-winning creator of the Once Upon a Time Machine series.

KRISTEN GUDSNUK lives in New York City. She is a comics/anime/tv/movie/book/music/language enthusiast, and has a dog. Her work can be seen in Henchgirl (as writer/artist) and Modern Fantasy (artist) from Dark Horse Comics, as well as Making Friends (writer/artist) from Scholastic.

**Please note: unfortunately, Paul Pope had to cancel his appearance with us at the last minute. Next time!

July 13, 2018: Deep Red Magazine Signing

Forbidden Planet is beyond stoked to announce an in-store of epic proportions. Horror fans take note, this July, Friday the 13th is your lucky day. Join us for a party in celebration of the relaunch of Deep Red Magazine.

FantaCo publishing has resurrected the late great horror journalist Chas Balun’s legendary horror magazine Deep Red for a whole new generation of gore hounds. With a slew of original contributors on hand and a batch of talented new blood, they have put together a tome that lives up to the publications legacy and is more than worthy of it’s moniker. Put it this way… this magazine is not for wimps.

Just look at the line up we have in store.
Publisher – Tom Skulan – FantaCo Publications founder
Editor-in-chief – John Szpunar – Xerox Ferox
Writer – Chris Poggiali – Temple of Schlock
Writer – Dennis Daniel – original Deep Red contributor.
Writer – Nick Cato – The Atrocity Vendor
Writer – Mike Hunchback – Pulp Macabre
Writer – Art Ettinger – Ultra Violent
Artist – Matt “Putrid” Carr – Organ Fanzine
Artist – Eric Rot – Illustrator

So come on down to Forbidden Planet on Friday the 13th of July from 6-8. Pick the brains of some of the most feral journalists in the game, marvel at the lurid work by contributing artists (prints, etc. will be available for sale), mingle with the madmen who brought you the newest issue of one of the most important magazine in the history of the genre and honor the legacy of the one and only Chas Balun, the man who created the template for modern horror journalism. Make sure to mark your calendars because this is an event you won’t want to miss

July 11, 2018: Son of Hitler Signings

Writer Anthony Del Col (KILL SHAKESPEARE, ASSASSIN’S CREED, SHERLOCK HOLMES VS HARRY HOUDINI) will be signing his new comic Son of Hitler in and around New York City several times in the coming weeks.

Some are born to make history. In the darkest days of World War II a female British spy handler discovers a rumor: that when Adolf Hitler was stationed in France during the First World War he fathered a child. Armed with stolen Nazi files, she goes rogue to find this son and recruit him for a mission to meet his biological father and kill him to end the war’s greatest threat. But that may not be the end of the Hitler family saga…

A pulpy spy and alternative history thriller in the vein of The Man in the High Castle, Zero Dark Thirty, Inglourious Basterds, and John le Carré, this audacious graphic novel exploring one of the war’s greatest legends is from acclaimed writer Anthony Del Col (Assassin’s Creed, Kill Shakespeare), New York Times bestselling illustrator Jeff McComsey (FUBAR, Flutter) and newcomer Geoff Moore.

June 13, 2018: The Weatherman #1 Signing

Creators Jody LeHeup and Nathan Fox will be at Forbidden Planet NYC on Wednesday, June 13 from 6:00 -8:00 PM to sign THE WEATHERMAN from Image Comics!

Nathan Bright had it all: an awesome girlfriend, a kickass dog, and a job as the number one weatherman on terraformed Mars. But when he’s accused of carrying out the worst terrorist attack in human history—an event that wiped out nearly the entire population of Earth—Nathan becomes the most wanted man alive and a target of a manhunt that spans the galaxy. But is Nathan truly responsible for such a horrific crime? And why can’t he remember? Writer JODY LEHEUP (SHIRTLESS BEAR-FIGHTER!), artist NATHAN FOX (DMZ, HAUNT, Dark Reign: Zodiac), and colorist DAVE STEWART (Hellboy, RUMBLE) present a full-throttle, widescreen science fiction epic about the damage we do in the name of justice and what it truly means to be redeemed…You don’t want to miss THE WEATHERMAN!

  • Shop Hours

    Sunday: 9 a.m. - 10 p.m.
    Monday: 9 a.m. - 10 p.m.
    Tuesday: 9 a.m. - 10 p.m.
    Wednesday: 8 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
    Thursday: 9 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
    Friday: 9 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
    Saturday: 9 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.