Tate's Comics + Toys + More

4566 N. University Dr.
Lauderhill, FL 33351

Past Events

Feb. 23, 2020: Park and Swap

A unique swap-meet style event featuring over 40 vendors!

There is no fee to shop and the store will be open at 9am on this day as well!

Guaranteed to include a wide variety of rare, affordable and truly weird items from South Florida collectors who are setup to sell their treasures. You never know what the heck you will find, but that is exactly what makes it so fun and interesting!

Make sure you pick up or print out a flyer and take advantage of the $5 off in-store purchase coupon!

Jan. 11, 2020: In-Store Signing with Steve Horton and BOWIE Art Show

Signing with Author Steve Horton from 4-6pm
BOWIE Art Opening in our Upstairs Gallery 5-7pm

In addition to writing BOWIE, Steve Horton is most recently the author of the graphic novel Satellite Falling (IDW Publishing), which multi-award winning comic writer Jimmy Palmiotti called his “new favorite book.”

Inspired by the one & only superhero, extraterrestrial and rock & roll deity in history, BOWIE is the original graphic memoir of the great Ziggy Stardust!

Chronicling the rise of Bowie’s career from obscurity to fame; and paralleled by the rise and fall of his alter ego as well as the rise and fall of Ziggy Stardust. As the Spiders from Mars slowly implode, Bowie wrestles with his Ziggy persona. The outcome of this internal conflict will change not only David Bowie, but also, the world.

BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns, and Moonage Daydreams is a 160-page hardcover graphic novel from Insight Editions, scheduled to release on 1/8/20. Featuring artwork by Mike Allred and color by Laura Allred.

“This tribute is a ravishing spectacle” , Publishers Weekly

“BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams is an absolute dream come true… there have been other books that meld comics with rock and roll. None of them, though, have done it so seamlessly and so attractively as BOWIE: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams does. For fans of David Bowie, Mike Allred, rock and roll, comics and art, this is a must-have purchase.” – Andy Burns, BiffBamPop.com

TATE’S is offering a limited time discounted pre-order price for Signed Copies of BOWIE. You can purchase a copy of this book for 20% off the regular price (which is $39.99) until 1/7/2020. You can place a pre-order at either our Lauderhill Main Headquarters or Boynton Beach locations. You can print out a flyer here or get one in-store, there is a little pre-order form at the bottom of the flyer.

You are able to pre-order a copy and have it signed by author Steve Horton. Options: You can pick it up AT the event on 1/11/20 and have it signed yourself. You can pick it up BEFORE the event, when it releases on 1/8/20 and bring it in to be signed on 1/11/20. You can even pick it up (signed to you) AFTER the event if you are unable to attend. The pre-order offer ends on 1/7/20, after which time it will be priced at the regular retail price of $39.99.

Oct. 26, 2019: Tate’s Comics Day

Way back in 2009, the mayor of Lauderhill proclaimed October 26th to be “Tate’s Comics Day”!

So henceforth we will honor it as if it was serious important day of our calendar year! ;-)

*The official proclamation is available at the front register upon request, yes this is a real thing!

Whereas, we invite all loyal customers of TATE’S to celebrate the Official “TATE’S Comics Day” with us!

Saturday, October 26, 2019
11am-9pm

At all our locations!

Oct. 25, 2019: TMNT Artist Signing

TMNT Artist Steve Lavigne signs at Tate’s Comics on Friday, October 25, 2019 from 6-8pm.

  • Shop Hours

    Sunday: noon - 6 p.m.
    Monday: 11 a.m. - 8 p.m.
    Tuesday: 11 a.m. - 8 p.m.
    Wednesday: 9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
    Thursday: 11 a.m. - 8 p.m.
    Friday: 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
    Saturday: 11 a.m. - 9 p.m.